Talar wins men’s singles title 

DK Memorial Badminton C’ship

ITANAGAR | Aug 12 | Number one seed shuttler Laa Talar on Saturday defeated his otherwise doubles partner Jokom Ribya in straight sets of 21-15, 21-19 to clinch the men’s singles title and win gold in the ongoing 5th edition of Dorjee Khandu Memorial State Open Badminton Championship-2017.

Though Talar dominated the first set and won it 21-15, Jokom gave him tough fight in the second. Unforced errors by Jokom in the latter half of the second set cost him the match which ended up earning him the silver medal.

The bronze medal in the men’s singles category went to Tai Douom and Dane Linggi.

The women’s singles (open category) saw Pinky Karki continue with her superb form as she defeated number one seed Laa Yajum 23-21, 21-13.

The first set of the clash proved out to be a treat for the spectators and both the players put up a great show and stretched the match to 23-21. The second set, however, was fully dominated by Pinky.

The winners of bronze in this category were Tania Yasap and Apali Mega.

Paired with her doubles partner, Taring Yania, Pinky also went on the win the women’s doubles (open category) title as the duo defeated Boni Yapu and Taw Aniya in straight sets of 21-03, 21-13 to clinch the women’s doubles crown.

Where the pair of Yapu and Aniya was awarded silver for being the runners up, the bronze was given to the pair of Irani Sonowal and Kenpi Karga. Apali Mega and Pema Ladon also were awarded bronze medals in the category.

Earlier in the day, arch rival in the singles category, Laa Talar and Jokom Ribya paired up to beat the duo of Kulang Takhi and Rahul Thapa in the men’s doubles (open category).

Kulang and Rahul, who put up a tough fight in the second set and also went on to win it, could not repeat the feat in the third as they lost the match in sets of 21-15, 18-21 and 21-18.

The category saw B Sarma, Beto Gadi, Ambita Sonam and Bili Lakai receive the bronze medals.

The mixed doubles finals witnessed Rahul partner with Tania Yasap and thrash the pair of Tai Doyum and Boni Yopu in sets of 24-14, 21-12 to win gold.

Where Boni and Doyum settled for silver, the pairs of Dilip Gurung and Y Mopi and B Jamja and Irani Sonowal got bronze for making it to the semis.

Home Minister Kumar Waii who witnessed some of the matches in the afternoon also gave away the prizes to the winners.

All the matches on day three of the tournament were played at the MLA cottage badminton stadium here.

The ultimate day of the championship would see the finals of the U-10, U-13, U-15 and U-19 categories being played which would be followed by a closing ceremony.

BJP state president Tapir Gao would be reportedly attending the valedictory function of the tourney on Sunday as chief guest.

Related posts