NPP against turncoat politics, money culture: Kabak

Retired bureaucrat Dakpe plunges into politics

By Pradeep Kumar

ITANAGAR, Sept 29: Newly formed National People’s Party (NPP) seems to be in a race with the ruling BJP and opposition Congress to expand is base in Arunachal Pradesh by drawing capable leaders to its fold.

Senior bureaucrat Tarin Dakpe, who retired as rural development director in 2015 after serving for 35 years in various capacities including being instrumental in reviving sick State Cooperative Apex Bank in 2007 at the initiative of then chief minister Dorjee Khandu, joined NPP with his supporters and senior former panchayat leaders here on Saturday.

NPP state president Gicho Kabak, NPP spokesman-cum-MLA Muchu Mithi, vice president Anok Wangsa, spokesman Nima Sange Saling, Kamle district unit president Janta Hangkar besides a host of party leaders welcomed Dakpe-led team to the party in its office here.

Pointing out that the NPP formed on 07.08.18 in the state, but formed by former Lok Sabha speaker P A Sangma in 2013 to work for the greater welfare of tribal people of the country, Kabak said that his party aims at greater welfare of the people as propagated by present national president and Meghalaya Chief Minister Cornad Sangma.

However, seven PPA had joined NPP, whose joining was accepted by the state speaker on 27.07.18, which serves as a prediction that the NPP would capture 27 seats in the 2019 assembly election as the NPP is the only alternative before the people across the state. Many retired bureaucrats including former horticulture director Jombo Ratan and school education director Tapang Taloh have joined.

Many will be approaching NPP anticipating ticket for the ensuing assembly elections but go away for not getting tickets, Kabak said and exhorted all including Dakpae to work for greater welfare of the state and its people ash party ideology is totally against turncoat politics. Though a meeting has been going on to finalize candidates for Ziro seat but winability would be first criteria for selecting candidates as the democratic party is above all differences, he informed.

Responding to a question on money based politics of Arunachal Pradesh, he recalled that he had lost election thrice for no money and chose to work for NPP, which is also against money-based politics. State Chief Minister Pema Khandu while addressing Hornbill Festival at Dimapur had regretted that Arunachal and Nagaland among all NE states are known for money-based politics and requires in few crores to contest any assembly election. He had given a call to change mindset to not buy votes during election to change the prevailing practice, he recalled.

Describing this as the first cause of corruption, he called upon all candidates for the next election to unanimously decide against such culture to contain it before bidding good bye to money culture.  A strategy has been formed against money culture which would be propagated soon, he said.

Describing move of Dakpe, a highly experienced bureaucrat, as very encouraging and welcoming, Mithi said that politics is a process to learn from each other as every human being has some experience or other which helps to work for the society.

NPP is a member of NEDA,  an alliance partner of ruling NDA at the Centre, Mithi said and advocated that alliance partners should work with each not against each other to achieve the goal.

VP Wangsa and spokesman Saling made a fervent appeal to rank and file do the party to strengthen the party toeing its ideologies for ensuing elections, while Hangkar pitched into add that works were on at the grassroots level for NPP to make a difference in ensuing elections with distinction.

However, Dakpe reciprocating the appreciation by all said that he wanted to serve the society for which he has joined the party but not in expectation of seeking a ticket to contest. “If there is a will, there is a way” to serve the society, he said, adding he would prove it in due course of time.

Those who joined with Dakpe included former ZPMs Deter Gapak (Dakpe) & Tasak Baja (Baja); former ASMs Jenre Don (Don), Tapik Dong (Dong), Maki Niji (Niji), former GPMs Tadi Dakpe and Taja Niji, former GPC Talar Don, public leaders Teni Nguri, Kem Baja, Protap Baja, Lato Dato and their supporters.

Related posts