11th T Chai Running Memorial Trophy | United Loiliang FC reclaims title

From Our Correspondent

TEZU, Oct 12: Defending champion United Loiliang FC (ULFC) emerged winner of 11th T Chai Memorial Running Football Tournament-2018 by beating Tezu Bazaar FC (TBFC) by 2/0 goals in the final match at Jubilee ground here of Friday.

Players of both the teams begun aggressively trying to score but neither side could score in the first half.

After few minutes of half time, Rocky Yun of United Loiliang FC scored the goal. TBFC failed in its several attempts when Yun netted another goal 10 minutes before the whistle blew to making ULFC winner to receive Rs 50,000 and the coveted trophy.

Runner-up TBFC team received Rs 30,000 with a trophy while all individual award winners were given Rs 10,000 with a trophy each. Manchal Ritti FC was adjudged best discipline team to get Rs 10,000 and a trophy.

Sports & Youth Affairs Minister Dr Mohesh Chai, in his address, said that his ministry has been striving hard to promote games and sports since he took charge five months ago.

“My ministry has made three defunct schemes functional and trying to build best infrastructure to achieve the goal”, he said.

S&YA director Tadar Appa, speaking as chief guest, advised the players to opt games and sport as career where as the GoAP has reserved 5% jobs as sport quota and best player will be selected for Tadar Tang Memorial Football Tournament 2018 to be played at Namsai in November.

Lohit SP Dr DW Thungon advised the student to play  games & sports regularly to remain fit and healthy.

In all 29 teams took part in the 17-day tournament since September 25 last and district S&YA department announced team for Tadar Tang Tournament.

Besides Lohit DC Karma Leki, former ministers Kapriso Krong and Nakul Chai, HoDs, Chai family members were among large number sport lovers who watched the exciting final match.

Related posts