BJP wins 28 seats, JD(U) 7 & INC 3

BJP leading in both LS seats

ITANAGAR: West seat sitting MP Kiren Rijiju with 1,69,852 votes was leading ahead of his six rivals while in East seat, BJP president Tapir Gao  with 1,37,764 votes was leading ahead of his four rivals, while counting was still in progress.

  • Zingnu inks history with 10,755  victory margin

By A O News Service
ITANAGAR, May 23: Ruling BJP in Arunachal Pradesh has won 25 seats, taking total to 28 with three won uncontested while counting for 8 seats was on with BJP leading in 3 seats, according to ECI website.
However, first timer Janata Dal (United)  inked history by bagging seven seats of total 15 contested, while INC won 3, NPP and PPA one each and two independents in 60-member house, whose elections were held on April 11.

Chief Minister Pema Khandu retained his Mukto seat by defeating Thupten Kunphen (INC) by a margin of 2,619 in straight contest. Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein (BJP) won from Chowkham seat for the first time by a margin of 7,291 votes defeating his lone rival Khunang Kri (INC). The seat was earlier represented by Mein’s elder brother C T Mein. The DyCM, who won from Lekang seat in Namsai district for past five consecutive terms since 1995, had to leave his citadel due to Permanent Residence Certificate issue which had turned violent.

Health Minister Alo Libang retained his Yingkiong seat by defeating veteran leader Gegong Apang (JD-S) by a margin of 1,609. Education Minister Honchun Ngandam was re-elected from Pongchau-Wakka seat by defeating his nearest rival Thangkai (INC) by a margin of 3788 votes. PHE&WS Minister Wangki Lowang (BJP) retained his Namsang seat in a multi-cornered contest by defeating his nearest rival Ngonglin Boi (NPP) by a margin of 1682 votes.

Sitting Namsai MLA Chau Zingnu Namchoom (BJP) defeated his nearest rival Mualin Agan (NPP) by a record margin of 10,755 in a four-corner contest. Sitting BJP MLA Nyamar Karbak retained his Liromoba seat in West Siang district for third time by defeating his nearest rival Jarpum Gamlin (NPP) by a margin of 664 votes. Sitting BJP MLA Wanglam Sawin retained his Khonsa East seat by defeating his nearest rival Danhang Phuksa (NPP) by a margin of 1594 votes. Dambuk sitting MLA Gum Tayeng (BJP) retained her seat in Lower Dibang Valley district by defeating her nearest rival Tony Pertin (NPP) by 873 votes. Sitting MLA Tsering Tashi (BJP) retained his Tawang seat by defeating Thupten Tempa (INC) by a margin of 3,529 votes and sitting MLA Jambey Tashi (BJP) retained his Lumla seat by defeating nearest rival Jampa Thirnly Kunkhap (NPP) by a margin of 1,288 votes.

The BJP received a major jolt with Speaker Tenzing Norbu Thongdok, who represented Kalaktang seat in West Kameng district for last two terms, getting defeated by new comer Dorjee Wangdi Kharma (JD-U) by 172 vote margin and Power Minister Tamiyo Taga lost to Talem Taboh (JD-U) from Rumgong seat by a margin of 85 votes. New comer Dongru Siongju (JD-U) won from Bomdila defeating veteran Japu Deru (BJP) by 233 vote margin. New comer Jikke Tako (JD-U) won from Tali by defeating Thaji Gichak Kiogi (BJP) by a margin of 105 votes.  Techi Kaso JD(U) retained his prestigious Itanagar seat by a slender margin of 302 votes in a multi-cornered contest by defeating his nearest rival Kipa Babu (BJP). Kanggong Taku (JD-U) won from Mariyang-Geku by defeating Annong Perme (BJP) by a margin of 1260 votes.

New comer Tana Hali Tara (BJP) won from Doimukh seat defeating his nearest rival Nabam Vivek (NPP) by 2,385 votes. Sitting BJP MLA Jambey Tashi retained his Lumla seat in Tawang district by defeating his lone rival Jampa Thirnly Kunkhap (INC) by a margin of 1288 votes. Sitting BJP MLA Kento Rina retained his Nari-Koyu seat by defeating his nearest rival Tojir Kadu (INC) by a margin of 216 votes in a triangular contest.

In Bordumsa-Diyun seat in Changlang district, independent candidate Somlung Mossang tasted victory by defeating his nearest rival Jawra Maio of the BJP by a margin of 2379 votes.

Former chief minister Nabam Tuki (INC) retained his Sagalee seat by defeating Tarh Hari (NPP) by a margin of 1,321. Dominic Tadar (BJP) was in 3rd position with 2,385 votes. Former MP Ninong Ering (INC) won from Pasighat West seat by defeating Tatung Jamoh (BJP) with a margin of 571. Sitting MLA Wanglin Lowangdong (INC) retained his Borduria-Bogapani seat by defeating Jowang Hosai (BJP) by a margin of 97 votes.

In a setback Home Minister Kumar Waii lost from Bameng seat in East Kameng district to new comer Goruk Pordung (BJP). Waii represented the seat for last two terms. Congress president-cum-former MP Takam Sanjoy lost to Jummum Ete Deori (BJP) from Lekang seat by a margin of 5,274 votes while sitting MLA Takam Pario (INC) was defeated by former MLA Balo Raja from Palin seat by a margin of 730 votes.

The saffron party had won 11 seats in the 2014 assembly polls.

Related posts