CS stresses on dev of villages near border areas

ITANAGAR, Sept 19: Chief Secretary Naresh Kumar asked the DCs of border areas to propose schemes which will have a strong and long lasting impact on the villagers in border areas.

Kumar’s directions came during 37th meeting of the State Level Screening Committee (SLSC) on Border Area Development Programme (BADP) chaired by him on Wednesday in presence of principal secretary Dr. A.C. Verma, senior officers, deputy commissioners or their representatives, district planning officers, representative from ITBP..

He also directed them to select one village under Border Blocks from their districts to be developed as Model Village under the BADP.

Emphasizing on quality as well as timely completion of projects, CS further directed the concerned Deputy Commissioners to personally visit the project sites especially projects related to security point of view and send reports accordingly on every alternate month.

There are twelve districts in Arunachal Pradesh having international border with China implementing schemes under the BADP. All the concerned Deputy Commissioners of the twelve districts, namely, Tawang, West Kameng, East Kameng, Upper Subansiri, Kurung Kumey, Kra Daadi, Shi Yomi, Upper Siang, Dibang Valley, Lower Dibang Valley, and Anjaw with international border with China submitted their Annual Action Plan 2019-20 in Power Point Presentation.

The SLSC on BADP finalised and approved most of the schemes except for Agro and Allied Sectors which will be taken up or merged with the schemes under Line Departments of the State.

Apart from this, the SLSC also reviewed status of VKV projects in Mukto (Tawang), Nafra (Khazallang, West Kameng), Boo (Anini, Dibang Valley) and others.

The SLSC also reviewed the latest status of the ongoing/completed projects under the BADP schemes in their districts. (PRO)

Related posts