Namsai to host National Press Day

By A O News Service

ITANAGAR, Nov 14: Arunachal Pradesh press fraternity will celebrate National Press Day on November 16 at Namsai-based Arunachal University of Studies (AUS), being hosted by Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein.

The APC-APUWJ appointed committee has made all possible arrangements for celebration of the annual day in a befitting manner to symbolize free and responsible press in India. This was the day on which Press Council of India (PCI) started functioning as moral watchdog to ensure that not only did press maintain high standards expected from this powerful medium but also that it was not fettered by the influence or threats of any extraneous factors.

Chief Minister Pema Khandu, DyCM Mein, Lok Sabha member Tapir Gao, MLAs of Lohit, Namsai and Lekang, former lawmakers, highly reputed dental surgeon Dr Jerrold F. Heller (Doctor of Dental Surgery degree from New York University), Khampti chief and top ranking bureaucrats and cops including chief secretary Naresh Kumar are expected to attend the event.

The Day will see annual Chief Minister’s Running Trophy debate competition on topic – ‘The house believes that revocation of Article 370 from J&K will have a long term on NE stats’ with participating teams – St Claret College, Ziro (winner of 2018 edition debate competition); AUS and Rajiv Gandhi University (winner of 2019 zonal debate competition).

The AUS had emerged winner of the zonal level debate competition (Eastern) on topic – ‘Trial by media is fair in democracy’-, held at Mahabodhi Lord Buddha College at Namsai on 29.10.18. AUS’ Khimhun had spoken for the motion and Jishma S Nair against it. Tezu’s Indira Gandhi Government College team was adjudged runners-up with Prakriti Yum speaking for the motion and Sangi Tayang speaking against it.

The PCI is a statutory body with mandate to act as watchdog to oversee conduct of the print media. It derives its mandate from Press Council Act, 1978. It consist of Chairman (who has by convention, been a retired judge of Supreme Court) and 28 other members of whom 20 represent press, five are nominated from two Houses of Parliament and three represent cultural, literary and legal fields. It is statutory, quasi-judicial body acting as watchdog of press. It adjudicates complaints against and by press for violation of ethics and for violation of freedom of press respectively.

Related posts