Sona seeks speakers’ support as new CPA India zone-III region chairman

GUWAHATI, Jan 11 Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) India zone-III region’s executive committee unanimously elected Arunachal Pradesh Assembly Speaker Pasang D Sona as its chairman at Khanapara here on Tuesday.

Sona, after formally taking charge from outgoing chairman-cum-Assam Legislative Assembly Speaker Hitendra Nath Goshwami, in his address, said that the CPA aimed at promoting constitutional, legislative, economic, socio-cultural aspects of parliamentary democracy and sought equal contributions of all speakers.

“It’s a new challenge for me and I urge everyone for their cooperation and contribution. We all need to work in tandem with equal responsibilities,” he reasoned.

He extended gratitude to all NE speakers for reposing their trust on him, saying “I am truly humbled and honoured to be elected to this position. I accept the responsibility with humility. I look forward to worki with them for better regional cooperation and development,” Sona added.

Giving detailed overview of CPA India Region Zone-III, Goshwami said scheduled CPA conference couldn’t take place at Itanagar  due to COVID-19 situation and his initiatives to strengthen the CPA and make North East Region Institute of Parliamentary Studies & Research (NERIPSTR) pro-active. He exuded hope that Sona would shoulder responsibilities and work for betterment of the CPA.

“I am very much optimistic that under the leadership of Sona, the CPA activities will continue to flourish to rise to much higher,” he said.

The members earlier discussed ways and means to improve the activities of NERIPSTR.

APLA Deputy Speaker Tesam Pongte, Kago Habung and joint secretary Tadar Meena also attended the meeting. (PRO)

Related posts