Mein bats for committee to correct lacunas in Industrial Policy

ITANAGAR, July 21: Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein has sought an inter-disciplinary committee for correcting the lacunas, if any, in the present Industrial Policy of Arunachal Pradesh.

The Industrial Policy needs to be reviewed and updated from time to time according to the latest Acts passed by the Centre and in consonance with the new Industrial Policy of the country for improving the ease of doing business in the state, he said at a meeting to review the policy on Wednesday.

The meeting was held with the commissioners and secretaries from Planning and Investment, Industries, Agriculture, Forest and Tax and Excise departments.

Mein asked the Secretary of Industries to formulate an inter-disciplinary committee by including members from all the line departments in order to fill whatever gaps there may be in the current Industrial Policy. He said the matters should be viewed from the perspective of the industries in order to attract potential investors to do business in the state.

Reiterating the huge availability of land banks in the state, he asked the Forest and Horticulture departments to formulate a Tea Policy and Horticulture Policy in order to encourage small tea growers and to facilitate the setting up of food processing industries in the state.

He asked the Agriculture Secretary to modify the Wine Policy so as to facilitate marketing of the locally produced kiwi wines from the state. He also asked them to effectively and fruitfully use the young agriculture and allied scientists in the field of research and development.

In the meeting, matters relating to the incorporation of VAT extension in the Industrial Policy according to a Cabinet decision, large-scale consumption of power in industries, subsidies for small tea growers, effective implementation of alternate crops for poppy cultivation, forward and backward linkages for Mega Food Park, etc., were also discussed.

The meeting was attended by Commissioner (Planning and Investment) Prashant Lokhande, Secretary (Finance, Tax and Excise) Y.W. Ringgu, Secretary Agriculture Bidol Tayeng, Secretary (Planning and Investment) Nitu Tsering Glow, Secretary Industries Hage Tari, Conservator of Forest T. Gapak, Director of Industries Taru Talo and Assistant Commissioner (Tax and Excise) Tapas Dutta among others. (PRO)

Related posts