AAPSU holds black day against GoI for passing Citizenship Bill

ITANAGAR, Jan 12: The All Arunachal Pradesh students’ Union (AAPSU) along with other North East Students Organisation (NESO) bodies observed black Day across seven NE states by hoisting a black flag at its central office here on Saturday as a mark of protest against adamant attitude of the GoI in passing Citizenship Amendment Bill, 2016 in Lok Sabha.

The observance was also against police atrocities on student activists in Tripura where five students protestor were shot indiscriminately in which many were and severely injured during NESO sponsored NE bandh on January 8 last.  The despotic BJP Govt in Tripura did not allow central NESO leaders led by advisor Dr Sammujal Battacharjee, chairman Samuel Jyrwa, secretary general Sinam Prakash Singh when they visited Tripura on Friday, according to an AAPSU release.

Briefing media persons present, AAPSU GS Tobom Dai, who led the protest Saturday, called upon state’s indigenous people not to remain indifferent towards the emerging situation and extend their solidarity to AAPSU in safeguarding their rights.

When asked about silence of state’s Pema Khandu-led BJP Govt on the development when many state Govts across NE region have spoken up and given a proactive stand, Dai said that on many occasions AAPSU has demanded the GoAP to speak up on this contentious Bill, but received only ambiguous reply that since Arunachal is regulated by BEFR 1873, CAB 2016 will have no bearing, which he said is ill informed and is half the truth and cautioned the state leaders not to forget about the presence of Chakmas and Hajongs in the state, who are Buddhist and Hindu and have come from Bangladesh.

He told political leaders cutting across party line that nobody is invincible, the game of politics, Govt making and unmaking will continue, leaders will come and go but the indigenous rights must remain. He also affirmed that indifferent act of central BJP Govt may ferment more troubles and unrest in NE in future.

The Leaders from federal units, including Kra Dadi, East Kameng, Siang, Upper Subansiri, DNGC Students’ Union,  RGU Students’ Union took part in the symbolic protest.

Related posts