Kashyap, four others get ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’

ITANAGAR, Feb 27: Eminent Guwahati-based journalist Dr Samudra Gupta Kashyap and four other alumni of Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC) were conferred “Lifetime Achievement Awards” by the IIMC Alumni Association at a glittering function in New Delhi on Sunday.

The awards were given away by Prof Sanjay Dwivedi, Director General of IIMC.

Dr Kashyap, a post-graduate in Development Journalism from IIMC in the mid-1980s had served as a journalist for close to four decades, before being appointed as a State Information Commissioner in Assam in 2020.

The other four winners of the award are veteran communication researcher and former IIMC Dean Prof Gita Bamezai, veteran TV producer of  ‘Mastermind India” and “Kaun Banega Crorepati” fame Anita Kaul Basu, veteran political commentator Prakash Patra and senior IIS officer Anurag Vajpeyi.

Two other alumni of the IIMC from Northeast, Times Now NE correspondent Nibir Deka and Mizoram Chief Conservator of Forests Pee Lee Ete too were among the various award winners of IIMC Alumni Association for 2023.

While Deka received the “Best Broadcasting Reporter of the Year”, Ete, an IFS officer, was chosen for an award for Public Service.

Established in 1967, Indian Institute of Mass Communication is the most reputed institution in the world specializing in Development Communication, Public Relations and Advertising. Its alumni are spread across the world.

Related posts