Woman ministers of Arunachal Pradesh | Pul 4th Minister in Khandu Ministry

By A O News Service

ITANAGAR, June 21: Pointing out that Dasanglu Pul became woman minister after 36 years as published in June 14 edition of this daily was wrong, Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee working president Bosiram Siram asked what about Mekup Dolo and Niani Natung?

Though MLA Komoli Mossang elected from Nampong Assembly constituency during December 1984 to March 1990 was first woman Deputy Minister (Health & Family Welfare, Economics & Statics from 03.08.88) and Cabinet Minister of Industry from 27.04.90, but there were other woman ministers during Congress rule, he said.

It may be recalled that responding to members charge that there was acute shortage of doctors across the state, she had asked when local doctors were reluctant to serve in interior area, how do you expect that doctors from outside would serve there? That is the main cause of shortage of doctors, she had quipped.

Other ministers were Mekup Dolo, wife of former Deputy Chief Minister Kameng Dolo, who had won as MLA from Bameng Assembly Constituency of East Kameng district in 1999, and served as Minister of State for Social Welfare, Women and Child Development. She passed away on 17.07.21 at the age of 61.

Moreover, Niani Natung, after her husband incumbent Education Minister Dera Natung died in a MI-172 Pawan Hans helicopter crash on 08.05.01 while on an official trip from here to West Kameng, was elected MLA in a by-election from Pakke-Kessang Assembly constituency of East Kameng district on 20.09.01 and appointed MoS for Social Welfare, Women and Child development. She had also served as Arunachal Pradesh State Social Welfare Board chairperson and Arunachal Pradesh Mahila Congress vice president.

Dasanglu Pul, 46, of Bharatiya Janata Party, wife of former Chief Minister Kalikho Pul, was first elected from Hayuliang in Anjaw district in 2016 to serve for a brief time, won in 2019 and 2024. She became only Cabinet Minister of Women & Child Development, Cultural Affairs and Science & Technology in third term of Chief Minister Pema Khandu on 13.06.24.

Related posts