Dr. Pertin & Danny clinch Men’s doubles Chairman’s Cup Badminton Trophy title

RONO HILLS, July 10: The two-day 3rd edition of Chairman’s Cup Badminton Trophy-2024,  2024, organised by Nangram Toglik Badminton Club (NTBC) in Upper Taying Tarang village, near Rajiv Gandhi University (RGU) with men’s doubles open category, concluded on Tuesday evening.

Officer-student pair of Dr. David Pertin & Charu Danny lifted the Open (men’s) championship trophy, in a keenly contested final match defeating their counterpart pair Tanil Tabang & Taje Pali with score 21:16 & 21:19.

The tournament, one of the sought after sports events in the area, was witnessed by badminton enthusiasts, in cluding faculty members, officers, research scholars, students and staff.

Twenty  teams took part in the event, which was kicked off on Monday by social activist Pani Yam (chief guest) and APEDA deputy director  Bengia Tadap (special invitee), who in their speeches, advocated more such opportunities at the local level.

Dubai-based Eco Trade AI company founder-cum-CEO Shah Tohid (chief guest) and Doimukh ZPM Chuku Bablu (guest of honour) of valedictory-cum-prize distribution ceremony, lauded the players for their sportsmanship spirit and encouraged them to compete in higher platforms to bring more laurels.  The company had sponsored the tournament. Bablu also termed sports is an integral part of human life and appreciated efforts of the club.

In the run up to clash summit, after long league matches of all the 20 teams in four pools, four pairs qualified for the semi finals round. The pair of Tanil Tabang & Taje Pali defeated their opponents Abhishek Balo & Innao Singpho in 1st semi final match of the Men’s Doubles (open) in straight sets (21:15 & 21:20), followed by  2nd  semifinal match where pair of Dr. David Pertin & Charu Danny edged past the pair of Dr. Mundeep Deuri & Litlong Nokbi in a thrilling three setters with score 21:11, 17:21 & 21:18.

NTB club chairman Nangram Toglik earlier spoke about history of the club. The organizing committee members and patrons Nangram Yaper, Dr. Atol Bengia, John Sonam Liyak and Lokam Agung also spoke followed by distribution of the trophies, medals and cash prizes, according to a RGU release.

Related posts